Monday, 27 January 2014

Cooney & Jones win Castleconnor doubles tournament 2014

Gerard Jones Memorial Cup champions 2014 Micheal Jones & Martin Cooney
Runners-up Michael Ginley & Michael Conlon

Michael Browne & Barry McLoughlin plate winners
Plate runners-up Stanley Harte Snr & Mark Murphy
Cup final:  Martin Cooney & Micheal Jones winners with Michael Ginley & Michael Conlon
Plate final: Mark Murphy & Stanley Harte runners-up with the winners Michael Browne & Barry McLoughlin
Action from the weekend's Gerard Jones Memorial Cup 40 x 20 Tournament in Castleconnor
Cooney & Jones Castleconnor doubles tournament winners

The names Cooney & Jones could be mistaken for a pair of gun slingers in any wild western movie but there was no holding them back as they fired the winning shots in an thrilling 40 x 20 doubles tournament held in Castleconnor yesterday, writes Michael McGee

The event is held in the honour of Gerard Jones who was tragicaly killed in a farming accident in 1990. The late Gerard Jones was a promising player before tragedy struck. In 1994 the Gerard Jones Memorial Cup was first played and has been running every year since.

Sixteen doubles started in the Annual Gerard Jones Tournament in Castleconnor. In some very competitive games it was the Castleconnor duo of Martin Cooney & Micheal Jones that lasted the distance. In a very exciting final it was the Castleconnor men that proved the strongest. In an absorbing final Cooney & Jones defeated the Bofield pairing of Michael Ginley & Michael Conlon in a contest that ebbed and flowed and either team could have taken the title. In the end it was Cooney's & Jones overall strength that won it narrowly in the end by 31-28.
First round matches
Jason Judge/Larry Jones bt Michael Browne/Barry Mcloughlin 31-17
Oisin Quinn / Ger Coleman bt Martin  Durcan/ John Gilmartin  31-20
Michael Jones/Martin Cooney bt Pascal Tuohy 31-12
Shane Bruen/Emmett Brannigan bt Stanley Harte jr/ Tom foody  31-19
Michael Ginley/ Michael Conlon bt joe Gorman/Pat Fox   31-6
Joe Neary/Tom Tuffy bt Paddy Walsh / John Fox  31-22
Pat Foy/aoife Quinn bt Martin Brannigan/Martin Durcan 31-12
Francis McCann/Brendan Tuffy bt Mark Murphy/Stanley Harte snr 
Second Round Matches
Jason Judge/Larry Jones bt Shane Wright/Stephen Foody. 26-2
Martin Cooney/Michael jones bt Shane Bruen/Emmett Brannigan.  26-13
Michael Ginley/Michael Conlon dft Joe Neary/ Tom Tuffy  26-10
Pat Foy/aoife Quinn dft Francis McCann /Brendan Tuffy 26-21

Jason Judge/Larry Jones dft Oisin Quinn/Ger Coleman 26-5
Martin Cooney/Michael Jones dft Jason Judge/Larry Jones   26-11

Plate matches Gerard Jones Tournament 
Joe Gorman/Pat Fox bt Paddy Walsh/John Fox 26-13
Mark Murphy/Stanley Harte snr dft Martin Durcan/Martin Brannigan 26-9

Mark Murphy/Stanley Harte snr dft Joe Gorman/Pat Fox   26-12
Michael Browne/Barry McLoughlin dft Stanley Harte jr/Tom foody 

Plate semi finals
Mark Murphy/Stanley Harte snr dft Joe Gorman/Pat Fox   26-12
Michael Browne/Barry Mcloughlin dft Stanley Harte jr/Tom foody 
Plate final 
Mark Murphy/Stanley Harte dft Michael Browne/Barry Mcloughlin 
Cup final: Martin Cooney/Micheal Jones dft Michael Ginley/Michael Conlon 31-28

No comments:

Post a Comment